Going it alone

I’ve noticed recently that I have people in my life that continuously bring me down and/or hold me (or themselves) back about staying healthy or being fit.  I’m really getting sick of this crap!  For their sakes I won’t be posting names or relationships to me so all of them will be known as Friend A/B/C…but if you fit underneath the category, odds are you have a friend like me who’s sick of your shit.  Fix it! Note this post is not for everyone, I just need to rant.

Friend A: This is the person who has a million excuses.  No matter what day/time you want to go to the gym they’re never available because their dog needs a massage or their family member needs them to drive them somewhere or some other useless task that wouldn’t take up the entire fuckin’ day.  Those of you with kids, this is different; except for those of you who use your kids as  an excuse.  They’re kids!  I go train at the park, why not play with them or let them play while you train?!  Or take a class and put them into daycare (if offered by your fitness facility).

Friend B:This is the friend who never feels quite right.  The one who “works too much” and is “always tired” or “wants some time to themself”.  Ummmmm, excuse me?!  WTF do you think the gym is for?!  I call it “ME TIME”.  It’s an hour or so devoted specifically to me and all about me.  I don’t care who else is around, what they’re doing or how my day was…this time is all about me!  There is no excuse!  If you want to watch TV, odds are there’s a treadmill with a TV in front of it or ATT offers U-verse everywhere and there’s Netflix!  Bring a book to the treadmill, walk so you can read if you need to.  It’s not about being the most hyperactive person in the place, it’s about moving.

Friend C:This one’s going to offend someone and I know it…so before I start with this one let me say, I’m not sorry.  If this is you, stop the habit and break that cycle. now. just do it.  This being said, this is the friend who is overweight, fat, fluffy, hefty, husky…whatever you wanna call them.  They’ve probly never seen the inside of a gym or the track at the park when they take their kids, they don’t want to be fit and want others to suffer because they aren’t happy with themselves.  These are the people that say,” Well I have <insert random reason here>, and I’m fat and people would look at me.”  Ummmm…..newsflash, I respect overweight people at the gyms and tracks more than I respect the smaller people or the damn gym rats (I hate them too).  If you’re overweight don’t come up w excuses, get off your ass, put down the damned Cheewees and MOVE!  Change your diet, but not so drastically that you can’t get through a day.  Set realistic goals so you can meet them and stick to it!  Find that fit workout buddy that you can train with (at a lower level of course, don’t overdo it) and talk with your doctor about safe ways for you to exercise if health issues are the problem.

Friend D:This is the friend who thinks no matter what you happen to be doing in the gym, they can do it better and discount what you’re doing and have trained up towards.  For example, I had been working on endurance and I wanted to see how many squats I could do after a run with 20lbs on my back (start small and work up).  When I broke my record I was excited and told my friends,” Hey guys, last week I could only do <x> amount of squats after my run with the bar, this week I’ve upped it by <x>!”  This one guy was like,” That ain’t shit, but you’re a girl so I guess that’s good for you…”  (^*&%(&%(*&^)*&  I wanted to slam his face into a wall.  I had been working really hard for that new record!  These are also the types of people who think that nothing can challenge them, like the friend who does some races with me.  He never wants to train and constantly turns me down for a training session because “it’s not like these races are challenging” and he “can get through them without any real effort”  I hope the upcoming race he’s doing KICKS. HIS. ASS. These guys are your typical meathead macho-man motha fuckas who think they’re God’s gift to women and the world revolves around their biceps and “gains”.

If you’re one of these people, seriously you can change it.  Get off your ass and let this be motivational!

But I am absolutely sick of feeling like I’m going at this alone!  I don’t mind the going alone so much when I’m not being put down or held back every step of the God damned way!

Leave a comment